About The Shark Conservation Society

A message from Richard Peirce - SCS Chairman

The Shark Conservation Society mission statement is as follows:

'The Shark Conservation Society seeks to further conservation through research expeditions and campaigns based on fact and practical experience, and to promote best practice when interaction with sharks is necessary'.

There are many excellent and effective charities and other campaigning organisations promoting various aspects of shark conservation and awareness in UK and around the world. We believe the Shark Conservation Society (SCS) is the only expedition organisation at present specifically operating and campaigning from a platform of fact and practical experience.

Since 2003 the society's forerunner Richard Peirce Shark Conservation (RPSC) has run 18 expeditions all of which have achieved significant success in promoting the need for shark conservation. By asking questions and getting answers SCS secures real conservation progress.

The Society is a membership society and only registered SCS supporters will be eligible to join expeditions. The cost of being a 'Registered Supporter' is £20 annually, or if non active participation is preferred you can become a 'friend' of the Society for £10 annually.

Expeditions have had to be suspended. Please check the statement on our Home page

Shark Conservation Society

Board of Directors

Richard Peirce (Chairman), Jacqueline Peirce (deputy chair), Denise Headon (Administrator and Society Secretary), Rob Allen, Tony Bennett, Shane Benzie, Mark Boothman, Stuart Nicholls, Bob Pennington, Mike Sharland, Simon Spear.

Legal Advisors

George Bowser (Dunn & Baker), Joe Middleton (Lightfoots), Nigel Dewar-Gibb (SK Sport & Entertainment).

Chartered Accountant

Thompson Jenner.

Scientific Advisors

Douglas Herdson, Ian Fergusson, Alec Moore, Dr. Alen Soldo.

Angling Advisors

Shark Angling Club of Great Britain.

Design And Print Consultant

Russell Atkinson.

Film/Audio Visual Advisors

Elasmo Films.

Honorary Life Members

Thabit Abdessalaam, Mr Anwar Mansoor AlHariri, Dr. Adel Khalifa Al-Zayani, Dr. Mehsin al Ansi, Richard Berry, John Boyle, Wilfred Chivell, Chris & Monique Fallows, Craig Ferreira, Richard E. Grant, Monty Halls, Mr Mohammad al Jaidah, Sheikh Khalifa Ahmed Al Khalifa, Mr Abdulqader Saeed Khamis, Miranda Krestovnikoff, Lt. General Yousef al Khorafi, Dr. Ibrahim al Maslamani, Rt. Hon. David Mellor, Brigadier Ali Al Mennai, Mr Mohammad al Mohannadi, Simon Rogerson, Mike Rutzen, H.E. Sheikh Yousef al Sabah, Douglas Seifert, Colin Speedie, Ron Taylor, Valerie Taylor, Ken Watterson, Steve Weinman, Chris Wylie.

Working To Protect Sharks Across The Globe

Following research and proposals submitted by SCS the Qatar government, in 2010, issued a decree protecting the Green Sawfish in Qatari waters. The Society then approached the government of the Kingdom of Bahrain who passed the same law relevant to Bahraini waters In 2012.


Become a Registered Supporter of the Shark Conservation Society today, for only £20 per year and help to secure the conservation of sharks around the world.

Sign up to become a member of the Shark Conservation Society
Shark Cornwall | Richard Peirce | The Poachers Moon